Seven Republicans Amongst Those Who Voted For Amnesty

Notice: Trying to get property 'post_excerpt' of non-object in /var/www/wp-content/themes/covernews-pro/inc/hooks/blocks/block-post-header.php on line 42

Illegal immigration is a hot-button topic that will likely play a big role in the upcoming 2020 election. President Donald Trump, of course, showed during the last presidential race that tough rhetoric on immigration resonates with the American people.

You’d think that Republicans would have gotten the message that voters — and certainly conservatives — are fed up with kicking the can down the road on the immigration issue. But when it came to a key vote on extending amnesty to over two million people in the United States illegally, around half a dozen GOP legislators just broke with their party and sided with Democrats.

On Wednesday, the House of Representatives passed H.R. 6, the American Dream and Promise Act. While it was not a blanket amnesty program, the legislation does essentially give amnesty to several million people who did not enter the United States lawfully.

“The legislation was brought forward by Democratic California Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard and will provide permanent status to illegal immigrants who came to the U.S. illegally as minors, as well as to those living in the U.S. under Temporary Protected Status,” The Daily Caller reported.

For the most part, Wednesday’s vote fell on party lines. The bill passed 237-187 in the Democrat-controlled House.

Those seven Republicans are:

  • Rep. Don Bacon of Nebraska
  • Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart of Florida
  • Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick of Pennsylvania
  • Rep. Will Hurd of Texas
  • Rep. Dan Newhouse of Washington
  • Rep. Chris Smith New Jersey
  • Rep. Fred Upton of Michigan

Read More

Please follow and like us:
Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial